The Ephrata Cloister or Ephrata Community was a religious community, established in 1732, in what is now Lancaster County, Pennsylvania. The Photograph was taken of one of the windows on the “Academy” building which was a school for children in the area. The Ephrata Cloister is a fascinating destination Lancaster County. Fact: Wood blocks were used as pillows! See historic details below.
- Frame dimensions: 10″ x 10″ Made in the USA
- Shown in Acid Free Black V Groove mat and Black Wood Frame
- 5″ x 5″Photo, Acid Free Mat, Solid Wood Frame, Backing Cover Sheet, Hanging Hardware.
- Signed by the Artist: Jane Baker
- Additional information
- Reviews (0)
5″ x 5″ Original Photographs, are Matted in Acid Free Mats Signed by the Artist and Solid Wood Frames Made in the USA. The Frames are Finished with Dust Cover Backing Paper and Includes Hanging Hardware.
Mat and Frame combination suggestions shown in gallery:
- Double Ivory over White Mat / Maple Frame
- Double Black Mat / Black Frame
- Double Ivory over White Mat / Bone Frame
Select your choices in the drop down menu. There are no up charges for any of these customized selections.
More information about the Ephrata Cloister from www.ephratacloiser.org
One of America’s earliest religious communities, the Ephrata Cloister was founded in 1732 by German settlers seeking spiritual goals rather than earthly rewards. Gathered in unique European style buildings, the community consisted of celibate Brothers and Sisters, and a married congregation of families.
At the zenith of the community in the 1740s and 1750s, about 300 members worked and worshiped at the Cloister. Today, the National Historic Landmark is open for tours, special programs, and on-going research opportunities.
The Academy (Cloister Reflections photo) was opened by the Householders in 1837 as a private school for their children and those of the area. The tradition of teaching school at Ephrata dates back to the mid-1700s when Brother Obed (Ludwig Hocker) conducted lessons for neighborhood children. Most of the teaching focused on reading, writing, and arithmetic. In the early 1840s, the enterprising teacher Joseph Wiggins also offered chemistry, measuring, surveying, and astronomy. In the mid-1800s, the building became a public school serving several generations of students until it closed in 1926.